Media Library permission checks in WordPress

If permissions to ~/uploads/ are not set correctly (or was modified in some manner), deleting media will only delete database references (item(s) will disappear from the Media Library view) but the actual files are not deleted.

However, when uploading media, permission errors are displayed.

This seems to be the the default behavior.

When was the last time you checked the contents of ~/uploads/ directory?